Monday, January 12, 2009

We have winners!

I can't speak for anyone else, but I had a wonderful time at this year's Mock Awards. There was spirited discussion and I thought the focus on the criteria for each award really helped everyone talk about the books in terms of eligibility for the awards, not just "I liked it" or "I didn't like it."



Winner: The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson, illustrated by Beth Krommes

Honors: Tadpole Rex by Kurt Cyrus ; Don't Worry Bear by Greg Foley


Winner: Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson

Honors: Seer of Shadows by Avi ; Lincoln shot! : a president's life remembered by Barry Denenberg ; The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman


Winner: Nation by Terry Pratchett

Honors: The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II: The Kingdom on the Waves by M.T. Anderson ; Pretty Monsters by Kelly Link ; The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

Thanks to all who attended, and to the New Milford Public Library for hosting the program. We'll all be waiting anxiously on January 25.